top of page
Search

Nick + Karley's Proposal

I received an inquiry from Nick wanting to do a surprise proposal for his girlfriend Carly. I was super excited at first, but then got really nervous..


The only proposal request I have ever had was from a few years ago by a good friend. At the time I was shooting on a old, discontinued Nikon model and I barely knew what I was doing. My friend insisted and I could not resist, it was such an amazing opportunity for my portfolio but also to witness a good friend ask the love of his life to be his wife! Fast forward- we set up a "couple's photoshoot" at Hermann Park in Houston. When I get there, my WORST nightmare happened...... I FORGOT MY MEMORY CARD.. and of course it was the only one I had at the time, being a college student, I couldn't afford to buy extras. I had 30 min before the shoot, so we tried to find a memory card at nearby stores. And OF COURSE, they said that the memory card my camera takes is discontinued also...embarrassed out of my mind, I had NO idea what I was going to do. However, the show must go on and the proposal must happen, so I use an iPhone and try to get the best pictures and videos I could (cringe...I know).


Now you know why I was so nervous when I received Nick's inquiry? Yes I know, it was so long ago and I have established better habits now. But as a photographer, you never recover from situations like that, because you feel like you ruined the biggest moment of someone's life! (sorry Justin and Abby..)


However, I took a deep breathe and I contacted Nick, set up location and time. Fast forward to Saturday, we meet up, we set up his rug and flowers, and we waited on Carly to be dropped off by her friend. Nick had written a letter for Carly to read on her way over, so once she arrived she had the biggest, goofiest smile on her face.





They hugged, walked over to the rug and Nick said a few sweet words and got down on one knee..


and SHE SAID YES!!




PHEW...glad that went smoothly- photos are clear, memory card did not corrupt, everyone clapped. Check out the rest of the photos I got of the NEWLY ENGAGED COUPLE!!!










Congrats Nick + Karley! I wish love and happiness for you both! And thank you for letting me be a part of this beautiful moment!


p.s.Moral of the story, for my fellow photographers, buy extra of everything and if it still goes wrong..that's okay! You learn from it and do your best to prevent it next time!



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page